Home BCCI Chetan Sharma reappointed as Chairman of BCCI’s selection committee

Chetan Sharma reappointed as Chairman of BCCI’s selection committee

Chetan Sharma continuing as chairman of BCCI selection panel

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has named Chetan Sharma, Shiv Sundar Das, Subroto Banerjee, Salil Ankola, and Sridharan Sharath as members of the new selection panel for the Indian Senior Men’s team based on the recommendations of the Cricket Advisory Committee. Sharma’s retention as the selection committee’s chairman was also suggested by the CAC. The committee, including Sulakshana Naik, Ashok Malhotra, and Jatin Paranjape, reviewed 600 applications.

“To choose the members of the All-India Senior Selection Committee, the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC), made up of Ms Sulakshana Naik, Mr Ashok Malhotra, and Mr Jatin Paranjape conducted a laborious procedure. Following the advertisement for the five positions posted on its official website on November 18, 2022, the Board got almost 600 applications. Based on the interviews, the Committee has suggested the following applicants to the Senior Men’s National Selection Committee: “read the board’s statement.

Sharma and his old coworker Harvinder Singh both submitted new applications for the position. In addition to these well-known applicants for the five posts, Venkatesh Prasad, Maninder Singh, Mukund Parmar, Nayan Mongia, and Sameer Dighe also submitted applications.

Ankola is one of the recently appointed candidates and has been the head of the Mumbai selection committee since December 17, 2020. Since September 17, 2021, S Sharath has presided over the Junior National Selection Committee. The selection committee has played in a combined 95 ODIs and 48 Tests. The other panellists had yet to participate in the T20 games except for Das.

The old panel was also assigned the responsibility of keeping track of Ranji Trophy matches because a new selection committee was absent.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here