Home BCCI ACC reappoints Jay Shah as president for a third term

ACC reappoints Jay Shah as president for a third term

Jay Shah set to continue as ACC president

Jay Shah’s tenure as the ACC President is fixed. His one more-year extension was unanimously passed during the ACC Annual General Meeting (AGM) held in Bali on Wednesday. Shah, the secretary of the BCCI, is serving as the second year of his second two-year term as ACC Chief.

In an ACC press release dated August 28, Shammi Silva, the SLC president, led Shah’s extension proposal, which was supported unanimously by other members from all ACC countries. Shah, who assumed the captaincy of ACC from Nazmul Hassan, the BCB president and president of the Bangladesh Cricket Board, in January 2021, became the youngest administrator to be re-appointed as the ACC president.

The presidency of ACC is rotated among other full members of ICC, which belongs to the continental body, and Shah is the first individual to come back from two consecutive terms. Shah expressed gratitude to the ACC Board for their faith in him. He further said that we must stay within our focus on making cricket grow across Asia in all spheres, with special emphasis on countries where it is in the embryonic stage. Shah reiterated that the ACC should continue nurturing cricket across Asia after re-election.

Cricket Live Score reported about an ACC meeting in Bali on January 29 and discussed the possibility of talks over the ACC president post.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here