Home BCCI Ajit Agarkar Appointed as Chief Selector for India Men’s Cricket Team

Ajit Agarkar Appointed as Chief Selector for India Men’s Cricket Team

Ajit Agarkar named India Men's chief selector

jit Agarkar, a former speed bowler, was “unanimously” chosen to lead a five-person committee and has been named chief selector of the Indian men’s cricket team. Agarkar was appointed following the resignation of Chetan Sharma, who was captured in a TV sting operation talking about national celebrities. Agarkar was recommended for the position of chairperson of the men’s selection committee on Tuesday “based on seniority” from the total number of Test matches by a three-member committee that the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) created.

Between 1998 and 2007, Agarkar, 45, played for India in 26 Tests, 191 one-day games, and four Twenty20 matches. Agarkar, born in Bombay, was a member of India’s winning team at the 2007 T20 World Cup in South Africa. Shiv Sundar Das, Salil Ankola, Subroto Banerjee, and Sridharan Sharath make up the selection committee’s original members.

Sharma, a former fast bowler, resigned in February after his outrageous assertions and gossip were caught on a covert camera and broadcast by Zee News. The 57-year-old claimed Sourav Ganguly and former cricket board president Sourav Kohli had an ego conflict. He further asserted that players frequently utilise illegal injections to pass fitness testing, reports Live Cricket Score.

Following India’s poor showing at the T20 World Cup last year, the BCCI fired the whole selection committee; however, Sharma was eventually reinstated before he resigned.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here